painting sunny

Planning For The End (Table)

4 Comments

We moved to a new state/town/home eight weeks ago, which means we have been using a big, blue plastic storage tote as a end table for eight weeks now. Honestly, it was already there as we unpacked and approximately the right height to sit a lamp on so there you have it. It is time to get it together and get real with our tables.

Last week I popped into a local second-hand store here in Ithaca, the Finger Lakes ReUse, with only about 10 minutes to spare. I knew I was after side or end tables (someone tell me the difference?) and this one stood out in the crowd pretty quickly. Not because she’s beautiful (she isn’t) or flashy (definitely not) but because she was the somewhat-hard-to-find-size we need, very very sturdy, has rounded-corners (we have little foreheads running in circles nearby) and has a shelf below for storage.  At $35 she was a bit more than I would usually want to spend for a second-hand table, but she fit the bill so I took the leap.

Here she is in all her… well, not exactly glory yet…

Planning For The End (Table) | Painting Sunny

But she will get there. Oh yes, she will.

Planning For The End (Table) | Painting Sunny

The classic Paloma Pose. This is her version of blue steel. Yes, our children propped all those pullows up against the walls for some reason. I assume they were probably launching something across the room at them… sigh.

Planning For The End (Table) | Painting Sunny

There is a label on the bottom, but looking up the company online yielded zero results. You can kindajustbarely see in this photo the underside of the top of the table which I think shows the original color of the wood and which was actually quite nice.

It isn’t good wood, just veneer, and is a bit dry and the finish is not in great condition. So it is slated to be refinished for sure. I’m brainstorming ideas, so please let me know if you think I’m on the right track or totally bananas. Anyone else just get that Gwen Stefani song stuck in their heads? No? Just me?

I’ve found some good Pinspiration (not all of the pics linked are of tables, so you have to use your imagination a bit).

Perhaps a glossy black with gold dipped legs like this?

Or an ultramarine blue like this?

You all know I’ve been in a Mid-Century mood, so maybe a nice avocado like this? I’m afraid that might be hard to coordinate, but would be a little unique. The green table linked here is gorgeous too… the color is so bold!

In the meantime, I’ll see what the Mister thinks, get it all gussied painted up, and show it off!

Anyone else doing 10-minute-or-less thrift store shopping? Have a cat with a photo-op problem? Want to dip some stuff in gold?

PS: This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own, and I have not received compensation for anything written. Keepin’ it real.

Author: Dani @ Painting Sunny

Hi there! I'm Dani, and it's lovely to meet you. My little family just moved to the quaint little college-town of Ithaca, NY and are loving it. Come hang out with me and talk about food, books, art, and other odd little things.

4 thoughts on “Planning For The End (Table)

  1. I have a similar veneer 3-tier stand/end table. I am interested to see what you come up with. I haven’t painted it yet, because I am not sure if the paint will hold.
    Anyway, I am digging the avocado painted one. Such a cool color, but will be hard to co-ordinate in to our home.

    • I know, I have a feeling the avocado is just a dream, but a pretty one! Maybe I could bring it in with accessories? I think black is the obvious choice, but color is just so irresistible… :) xo, Dani

  2. Hello! I’m the Development & Communications Coordinator for Finger Lakes ReUse and I just wanted to reach out and thank you for writing about us and the end table you got at the ReUse Center! As a young organization, we appreciate all the help we can get in publicizing our many services that benefit the community, economy, and environment.

    If you ever have any questions about our services, or are interested in a personal tour of the ReUse Center, please feel free to get in touch with me or our Executive Director, Diane Cohen, at (607) 257-9699.

    Thanks again and have a great Labor Day weekend!
    Shelbi

    • Shelbi, thanks so much for stopping by! I totally love places like the ReUse Center (as any good DIYer does) and am so lucky that we have one right here in Ithaca. I’m new to the area and so glad to find such a good source for great second-hand furniture! As soon as it is refinished I will be sure to contact you and show off the results ;) Thanks for all of your hard work at such a great local organization! xo, Dani

Leave a Reply

