painting sunny

BTW, Nasa Wants You To Buy Houseplants

1 Comment

Last weekend we experienced the Ithaca Farmers Market for the first time, and it really was incredible….

NASA wants you to have houseplants | Painting SunnyOf the many things this community has to offer, the Farmers Market is well-known, well-established, and well-loved. On our very first visit, we already knew someone there – I think it will definitely be a regular weekend activity. We didn’t actually buy a lot of the things a Farmers Market is meant for, but we still spent a few dollars in order to test out the breakfast burritos we had heard so much about, the iced coffee, and finally a few house plants.

I say finally because we did not bring any houseplants along with us, despite my really high value on them. It just didn’t make sense to see if the moving company would keep them alive inside a truck for two weeks. So, I kept the pots and we stocked up after we got a little bit settled.

BTW, did you know that NASA wants you to have houseplants? They practically insist, really. Not only have they found houseplants improve air quality by removing toxins but have such a psychological benefit they can help you recover from illnesses faster. Umm, in a house with two kids where everyone always is catching a cold… yes, please.

NASA wants you to have houseplants | Painting Sunny

The above plants are now members of our household. The two grouped together on the far left came from the Farmers Market for $5 per plant, and include a jade plant and an aloe plant. When I was a kid we often had aloe plants around so they are a little nostalgic for me.

The plants on the right include… well, “tropical plants” from Home Depot that were each between $2-4 dollars. Not hard on the wallet, if you ask me… and easy on the eyes. They all seemed so healthy! I believe one is an asparagus fern, and one is a “ZZ plant”… not sure what the other one is, but it was so pretty and healthy we got two! So, those plants went right into….

NASA wants you to have houseplants | Painting Sunny… these pots. I did not realize how much I appear to be drawn towards blue and white pots until they were lumped together. Yep… a little homogenous. At least it flows nicely throughout the house!

While at Home Depot I grabbed some Miracle Gro Moisture Control soil – this isn’t sponsored in any way, it’s just the soil I’ve had the best luck with in the past.

NASA wants you to have houseplants | Painting Sunny

Don’t they say every room should include plants and books? I’m pretty sure that’s a thing. If not, it should be.

The plants have made the house feel oh-so-much-more cozy. I can’t really tell if there are less toxins in the room, so I guess I’ll just have to trust NASA on that one.

NASA wants you to have houseplants | Painting SunnyI didn’t get a good pic of the asparagus fern, but it’s probably just as well. The cat has taken to chewing on it constantly. It’s like her after-dinner mint. Who knows how long the little fern will survive… sniff. NASA wants you to have houseplants | Painting SunnySpeaking of the cat, she continues her tradition of photo-bombing. With only her tail. It’s like a new trend or something. I didn’t even realize she had done it until I went to upload the photos. This was probably taken two seconds before she realized how delicious ferns can be.

Anyone else starting totally clean-slate with their houseplants? Unintentionally collecting those blue and white plant pots? Need to actually read that book that keeps turning up in their photographs? Hoping their cat can digest asparagus fern?

PS: This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own, and I have not received compensation for anything written. Keepin’ it real.

Author: Dani @ Painting Sunny

Hi there! I'm Dani, and it's lovely to meet you. My little family just moved to the quaint little college-town of Ithaca, NY and are loving it. Come hang out with me and talk about food, books, art, and other odd little things.

One thought on “BTW, Nasa Wants You To Buy Houseplants

  1. Pingback: Tenacious Tenant: Renter-Friendly DIY | painting sunny

Leave a Reply

