painting sunny

Moving & Shaking (Okay, mostly just moving)

Leave a comment

I can’t wait to get back to finishing some projects. Someone hand me a can of spray paint or fat quarter, stat! Anyone who has undergone a major relocation knows, it really does put a hold on a lot of things. Everything is in boxes and the days are filled with school registrations, address change cards, getting lost trying to find the grocery store on unfamiliar roads. Nothing can stop me from dreaming, though! I am all over Pinterest right now, planning what projects I will throw myself into the moment my sewing machine and paints arrive.

Meanwhile, we are settling into our new town and getting things in order. The Mr. has started work, preschool and day camp arrangements have been made, and I am gearing up for my own first day on the job. We’ve found an apartment and hopefully next week our things arrive from the movers and we can begin setting up house!

Update on the Move | Painting SunnySaying goodbye to one home and hello to another is bittersweet for all of us. I love this picture of the kids together, that my mother took during our last hour before we took off. Dennis and I were loading the car with the last of our things, so Mom walked the kids up to this little deck in our neighborhood that overlooks a pond, to keep them out of the fray. They might bicker like any siblings, but you can just see how much they love each other.

Update on the Move | Painting SunnyAs I mentioned earlier this week, the trip there was surprisingly smooth (I listed some of the lessons I learned). Really, as sweet and adorable as babies are, this preschool/early elementary age is awesome. Haven could occupy herself for significant amounts of time, and even Lo was reasonably self-sufficient. The cat was a little needy, on the other hand.

Update on the Move | Painting SunnyWe are temporarily staying in a university-owned apartment while we wait for our lease to begin/movers to arrive. It is so generous of the college, and the apartment has worked out great – it has a little yard so for the first time, the kids have a fenced-in outdoor area to play in! Blowing bubbles got them out for some fresh air. It is awesome. The little neighborhood is great, too – full of kids and playground equipment. Still, the kids are not used to sharing a room and it just isn’t our own beds, you know? We are really getting excited to get settled!

Update on the Move | Painting Sunny

One of the biggest tasks is keeping the kids occupied. As I confessed earlier, we accidentally packed all our books so before we could sign up for a library card (needed proof of address to do that) Lo and I hit up a used bookstore and stocked up on a few.

Update on the Move | Painting Sunny

Haven loved being able to read books aloud to her little brother at first… but when Llama Llama Red Pajama became an on-demand service she became a little less enthusiastic.

Update on the Move | Painting Sunny

We have also checked out some of Ithaca’s more proclaimed (at least by the people we know) family-friendly places to be. One of them was Buttermilk Falls, where we checked out the impressive cascades and the even more impressive playground equipment. Seriously, that is a cool park. Haven wanted to “introduce” the waterfall to everyone.

I wish I had a pic of the new apartment, but I didn’t think to snap one when we toured so that will come later. Where did we move from, though?

Update on the Move | Painting Sunny

I will miss this townhouse, for sure! It was in a fairly-quiet community, and had really remarkable landscaping. The square footage was huge, and most of the appliances were very nice. Every home has it’s pros and cons, though – I am most excited that our new place won’t have any stairs! I could use a break from having things always stacked on the bottom and top of them to be shuttled around, and worrying about the kid’s playing too recklessly at the top of them.

Just to go way-back old-school style, this was our first townhouse. It was a little builder-basic, very tight on space, and did not have quite as much curb-appeal, but it is where we brought Diallo home to as a baby, so it will always have a special place in my memory.

Update on the Move | Painting Sunny

Anyone else just settling into a new town and discovering what it has to offer? Learning a lot about working with moving companies? Getting a kid’s first library card? Lo was so excited!

Author: Dani @ Painting Sunny

Hi there! I'm Dani, and it's lovely to meet you. My little family just moved to the quaint little college-town of Ithaca, NY and are loving it. Come hang out with me and talk about food, books, art, and other odd little things.

Leave a Reply

