painting sunny

Little Pink Whiteboard Project

Leave a comment

Sometimes it’s those quick little projects that are so satisfying, fun, and brighten up my day and a room in the house, too. This is one of them. Haven has had two dry erase boards hanging above the desk in her room for years now, which are totally mismatched and she only really uses one of them. They are awesome to have around, but I wanted to make it a little brighter for her. Mom covered one in pictures and captions of Haven with her loved ones originally, so those will go back up after we get settled in our new place (Just a few more weeks! Eeek!)

Isn’t she pretty? (at least for a dry erase board…)

Little Pink Whiteboard Project | Painting Sunny

I learned how hard it is to get a dynamic photo with nice composition… of a dry erase board. Also, I should have cleaned the marker off the white surface of it before taking the picture. That’s what I get for trying to snap pics while getting ready in the morning.

Here she is before: the darker-colored wood-framed one to the right. Not the one covered in Tic Tac. To be specific. BTW, is it called Tic Tac?

Little Pink Whiteboard Project | Painting Sunny

I decided to use other whiteboard (the lighter-colored one to the left) in Lo’s room after we move, as it fits better with his decorating scheme and both kids could use one. One board is a quicker little mid-week painting project, too!

Little Pink Whiteboard Project | Painting Sunny

I started off by prepping the board to be painted. The most important part was to make sure the actual dry erase board part didn’t get painted on. I used some notebook paper and painters tape to cover the surface.

This was easy-peesy-lemon-squeezy. Yep, I just said that. I started off with a couple quick coats of Krylon spray primer that I already had sitting around, then followed it up with three light coats of Krylon indoor/outdoor spray paint in Raspberry. BTW, this is not sponsored by Krylon in any way – they don’t know I exist. It’s just what I’ve been using.

I love the color. I still have almost the entire spray can left, and am hoping to find some thrift-store ceramic animals at some point (come on, someone please donate some to our local Goodwill!) and spray them the same color.

True confession: The paint didn’t stick as well in a couple tiny spots as I would like it to have. I assume partly because wasn’t sanded (was technically a wood surface, but not very sandable. That’s a word. Also, I partly painted in the half-dark and with fluctuating temps so who knows what all contributed. It actually isn’t noticeable unless you’re holding it up to the light and rubbing it, so I have a feeling no one else will ever notice.

Well, that’s one quick little project out of the way before the move.

Anyone else spray painting in the almost dark? Going for shades of pink on their office supplies? Happy it is spray-painting weather again?

PS: This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own, and I have not received compensation for anything written. Keepin’ it real.

Author: Dani @ Painting Sunny

Hi there! I'm Dani, and it's lovely to meet you. My little family just moved to the quaint little college-town of Ithaca, NY and are loving it. Come hang out with me and talk about food, books, art, and other odd little things.

Leave a Reply

