painting sunny

Art that is Weird and Cool (and now I’m a little inspired)

1 Comment

While my own work has hit a predictable roadblock (like, my art supplies are literally packed in boxes to be moved… underneath other boxes) at least I can stop and take a moment to wonder at what others are creating.

I recently discovered The Jealous Curator. This girl has some mad good taste, and is a one-stop-shop for inspiration and pretty things. I was unsurprised to read that she contributes to SFGirlByBay, which is obviously amazing and a permanent blog roll fixture over here. Check out her Girl Crush Tea Parties, too.

If I had a tea party, she would totally be invited (I’m not quite sure what her name is, though… I haven’t had time to creepy online stalk her yet). Probably along with Jenny Lawson aka The Bloggess and Sherry from Young House Love and Rebecca Skloot and… okay, that already sounds random and a little unpredictable so let’s just stop there. Art That is Weird & Cool Curation | Painting Sunny

So, in homage to her I have put together my own little list of artist’s I’m jealous of and/or crushing on:

1. Beth Galton’s Conceptial Food Photographs

Beth Galton's Conceptial Food PhotographsSource: Beth Galton

Beth Galton's Conceptial Food PhotographsSource: Beth Galton

Literally, food cut in half. There is something so simple and clean about her photographs, and the classic foods represented.

2. Kirsty Mitchell’s Wonderland

Kirsty Mitchell PhotographySource: Kirsty Mitchell Photography

Kirsty Mitchell PhotographySource: Kirsty Mitchell Photography

These are so saturated detailed… It’s sci-fi, fine art, and fashion all rolled into one. The story of how she was inspired as well as how she managed her budget is intriguing, as well.

3. Cecelia Webber’s Human Body Art

Cecelia Webber's Human Body ArtSource: Cecelia Webber

Cecelia Webber's Human Body ArtSource: Cecelia Webber

Okay, how amazing is that flower made out of legs? Did you realize it was legs at first? The composition of these, along with the perfectly perfect hue’s mean I could stare at her photographs for hours.

4. Brock Davis’s iPhone Photos

Brock Davis's iPhone PhotosSource: Brock Davis

Brock Davis's iPhone PhotosSource: Brock Davis

The humor that is evident in many of these photographs is what draws me to them. When combined with his sense of composition and eye for catching tiny and subtle details, Brock Davis is someone I wish I could get coffee with.

5. Anastassia Elias’s Rouleaux

Anastassia Elias's RouleauxSource: Anastassia Elias

Anastassia Elias's RouleauxSource: Anastassia Elias

This are whimsical, sweet, and make you think the artist must be… well, a very unique person. My favorite part = the impact the different lighting can make in the various rolls.

For more blogs I obsess over regularly visit, check out my shout-out list of Blogs To Love, right there to the right —>

Anyone else enjoy art made from toilet paper rolls? Craving a jelly doughnut now?

PS: This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own, and I have not received compensation for anything written. Keepin’ it real.

Author: Dani @ Painting Sunny

Hi there! I'm Dani, and it's lovely to meet you. My little family just moved to the quaint little college-town of Ithaca, NY and are loving it. Come hang out with me and talk about food, books, art, and other odd little things.

One thought on “Art that is Weird and Cool (and now I’m a little inspired)

  1. Pingback: iPhoning It In: Embracing My Camera Daily | painting sunny

Leave a Reply

