painting sunny

In The Mood For Ikea (A Triple Moodboard Love Fest)

Leave a comment

The best part of planning our move so far (for me, anyway) is our planned trip to Ikea. We are re-selling quite a few furniture items that we don’t want to move all the way and which we aren’t totally in love with, so we’re hoping to make enough money off those to completely cover the cost of a little Ikea trip on the way there.

As excited as I am about an Ikea shopping experience, we are looking at getting some pretty practical items… a chair, little dressers for the kids, etc. That is our max, but you can’t stop a girl from dreaming, right? Here is what I would buy if I had unlimited funds and a whole room to decorate. Well, two living rooms and a little guy’s room, anyway.

Let’s dream on…

Quirky Patterned Ikea Dream Living Room | Painting Sunny

Quirky Patterned Ikea Dream Living Room

Okay, granted this is a lot of pattern – but I love the contrast, and the way the reds and cooler tones play off of each other. Doesn’t that chair add structure?

Glamorous & Practical Ikea Dream Living Room | Painting Sunny

Glamorous & Practical Ikea Dream Living Room

As a family with children, I love anything that is still shiny and pretty and fabulous… and unbreakable with the ability to clean it easily. I like how the wood of the table and the plants in the print add a natural element to ground the glitter just a bit.

Bright and Cuddly Ikea Dream Children's Room | Painting Sunny

Bright and Cuddly Ikea Dream Children’s Room

I’ve done some moodboards of what I envision our daughter’s room looking like some day… but if I could drop some cold hard cash on our son’s room right now, all these things make the cut. Ikea is just so easy to mix and match. How sweet are those foxes?

Anyone else window shopping for affordable Swedish furniture? Buying fake vegetables for their kid? Wishing they actually played the lotto?

PS: This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own, and I have not received compensation for anything written. Keepin’ it real.

Author: Dani @ Painting Sunny

Hi there! I'm Dani, and it's lovely to meet you. My little family just moved to the quaint little college-town of Ithaca, NY and are loving it. Come hang out with me and talk about food, books, art, and other odd little things.

Leave a Reply

