painting sunny

Ice Ice Coffee

Leave a comment

Okay, that pun just had to be done.

I really, really love my coffee. Actually, I didn’t even drink coffee until I was 27 or so… I made it through two college degrees and a one baby before I started. By the time our son turned 4 months old, I was hooked on a pretty large coffee every morning. I feel like Nancy Botwin on Weeds… well, minus a few character details.

Ice Ice Coffee | Painting Sunny

While I love coffee in general (and yes… Starbucks in particular) my favorite is iced coffee. When I am if I were Oprah, it would be one of my favorite things. Buying Starbucks every morning is not a fiscally responsible decision, however. So last year I went on the hunt for an iced coffee recipe, and via my Pinterest, found this iced coffee recipe  by Craving Comfort. It is easy, affordable, and we lived happily ever after.

Ice Ice Coffee | Painting Sunny

I like my coffee strong, particularly when iced, so when the ice melts it stays strong. I do not, however, like it sweet. Which is weird, because I am fueled almost entirely by refined sugar. For some reason sweet beverages are not my thing – I like unsweetened iced tea, sparkling water instead of soda, and dry wines. I’m a weirdo. So, I do not use the Sweet Cream portion of Craving Comfort’ recipe, even though I am sure it is delicious.

My version of events is here, and is tweaked a bit from the original pinned recipe just to accommodate what I have on hand and works best for me. For some reason, I just never have cheesecloth around.

The Supplies:

  • 12 oz. bag of coffee, choosing one that is good cold-brewed (see note below)
  • A very large bowl
  • 6 quarts of water
  • Something to strain with (cheesecloth or coffee filters in a strainer, or a permanent coffee filter)
  • A ladle
  • Pitchers or jugs
  • A cloth large enough to cover the bowl

Note on coffee choices: Over time, I have tried out various coffees, and I do believe that some are better when cold-brewed than others. There are coffees I love brewed hot that just don’t translate well in the world of ice. My favorites are any of the blonde roast Starbucks coffees or Dunkin’ Donuts original roast. After that, Starbucks Breakfast Blend. I love flavored coffees, but they turn out weird iced. That’s just what I’ve found that works best – please experiment and let me know how it goes!

Ice Ice Coffee | Painting Sunny

The beginning is the easiest part. You take your bowl and fill it full of approximately 6 quarts of cold water. Make sure you still have a little room in the bowl!

Empty the entire 12oz bag of coffee into the bowl. Yes, I know this is scary. Please just trust me… it will all work out fine.

Ice Ice Coffee | Painting Sunny

I like to stir the coffee into the water until moistened. This might not be necessary – I once got distracted and walked away from it, and when I came back 20 minutes later it had all sunk to the bottom perfectly. I may just be a control freak.

Ice Ice Coffee | Painting Sunny

When your coffee is all saturated with water, cover it with a cloth and leave it overnight or for 8-12 hours. I tuck the ends of the cloth under the bowl just a bit, so it doesn’t sink into the coffee.

Ice Ice Coffee | Painting Sunny

After the appropriate amount of time has passed, grab your jugs! Wait, that sounded wrong. Totally wrong.

Get your pitchers out, and your straining device and ladle.

Ice Ice Coffee | Painting Sunny

I use the gold permanent coffee filter that came with my coffee pot. My personal method is to wrap the cloth around the bottom of a pitcher to catch drips, use one hand to hold the filter over the opening of the pitcher, and the other hand to dip the ladle into the bowl. See above photograph! My best tips are:

  • Keep the pitcher close to the bowl as you ladle the coffee.
  • Go slowly.
  • Try not to get a lot of coffee grounds in the filter.
  • When you run out of liquid at the top to ladle up, just grab the bowl and very carefully pour the last of the liquid out of the bowl into your strainer. Seriously, be careful though since if you tilt the bowl too far you have a cold mess of coffee grounds.

If you find you’re making a mess, keep in mind it just takes a bit of practice. Actually, after the first time I was able to do it without dripping any coffee at all, really. You’ll get a knack for it.

Ice Ice Coffee | Painting Sunny

This is how much I get out of one batch. Not bad, huh? It lasts for daaaaays…. as in, at least a week and a couple days… maybe 10? For me, the cost is $6 for the entire batch, since I usually get the coffee on a good sale and stock up then. A vente iced coffee with non-fat milk from Starbucks is something like $3.49, so this saves me approx. $28.90 for that many large coffees. Not bad!

Ice Ice Coffee | Painting Sunny

If you wondered what to put the iced coffee actually in, I have a lovely Tervis mug my mother gifted to me, which I use every single day. I love it. And My Mom. I don’t have the actual Tervis straws but need to grab one. I think one of these is something like $14.99 from Bed, Bath, & Beyond. It keeps things cold forevs.

Anyone else thriving off coffee and desserts all day? Have a good iced-coffee recipe? A particular coffee I should try out?

Happy Wednesday!

PS: This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own, and I have not received compensation for anything written. Keepin’ it real.

Author: Dani @ Painting Sunny

Hi there! I'm Dani, and it's lovely to meet you. My little family just moved to the quaint little college-town of Ithaca, NY and are loving it. Come hang out with me and talk about food, books, art, and other odd little things.

Leave a Reply

