painting sunny

Lemony Spaghetti

Leave a comment

I almost made a Lemony Snicket reference, but it really felt like a stretch, you know? Like, “Lemony Spaghetti’s Series of Tasty Ingredients” or something. Nope, really didn’t work.

This recipe sort of worked, and sort of didn’t. I believe some people will love the tart and different flavor. Others will find it slightly strange if you’re used to red sauce, pesto, or other more common pasta sauces in the U.S. I was looking for some lighter summer pasta recipes, and found this recipe on Food Network, from Giada. This post is not sponsored in any way, BTW.

I will say, it was easy and affordable; so why not give it a shot sometime when you’re in the mood to experiment?

Lemony Spaghetti | Painting Sunny

NOTE: I halved the recipe from the original source, and omitted the basil as I sensed my children would reject it. Let’s get started!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb spaghetti noodles
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/3 cup fresh grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
  • salt and ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1 tbl unsalted butter (this is my own addition)

Of course, choose some yummy sides to go along with it!

Lemony Spaghetti | Painting Sunny

Start your pasta to boil, and cook according to instructions to achieve al dente status.

Meanwhile, whisk the oil, Parmesan, lemon juice, salt, and pepper in a large bowl.

After the spaghetti is finished cooking, drain the spaghetti and stir into the oil/cheese/lemony sauce.

I found that the lemon stood out a bit too much, so I stirred 1 tbl of unsalted butter into the noodles and it gave it a softer taste.

Lemony Spaghetti | Painting Sunny

Viola! That was easy, wasn’t it?

Lemony Spaghetti | Painting Sunny

Of course, having a good vegetable side is key with pasta. I grabbed some baby portobello mushrooms I had on hand, and a handful of asparagus.

Lemony Spaghetti | Painting Sunny

I heated about 2 tbls of olive oil in a pan, and tossed the asparagus and sliced mushrooms in with the oil. I then let them cook on medium heat for about 6 minutes, turning them once during cooking to get them nice and crisply cooked through.

Lemony Spaghetti | Painting Sunny

If nothing else, it sure looks pretty.

Anyone else try this? Please let me know how you respond to the taste! I couldn’t decide, I think I really just couldn’t wrap my head around it. Any other light summer pasta dishes I should try? Please share! There is only so much pesto a girl can eat! Okay, that’s not true. There is never enough pesto.

PS: This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own, and I have not received compensation for anything written. Keepin’ it real.

Author: Dani @ Painting Sunny

Hi there! I'm Dani, and it's lovely to meet you. My little family just moved to the quaint little college-town of Ithaca, NY and are loving it. Come hang out with me and talk about food, books, art, and other odd little things.

Leave a Reply

