painting sunny

Fun Size Reviews of Recent Reads

1 Comment

How about some tasty little bites of book reviews? In the past, I’ve reviewed books excessively in-depth. Then, life got crazy and the books piled up. Literally. See below.

I just can’t skip reviewing these books, so thought I would try my hand at being concise and thoughtful. It would be a first, for me. So, here we go!

Brief Reviews of Eat, Pray, Love & Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks & Dune Road & Where We Belong | Painting Sunny

The Immortal Life of Henriette Lacks by Rebecca Skloot

On the list of favorite things I have ever read, this makes the cut. The Immortal Life of Henriette Lacks is an enthralling read about ethics, race, economic class, and just a great example of meaningful research. Who can read this book and not finish feeling a deep caring for the Lacks family, a broader perspective of the medical industry, and a bit of an author-crush on Rebecca Skloot? I had to check her bio several times to confirm that it was, in fact, her first book. Anyone who has ever had a question and a nagging instinct to follow up on it, will understand the basis for this research. Rebecca has made more tremendous strides in our current-day conversation on race than one person usually does; and all without coming across as self-righteous or judgmental. I find this book, and Ms. Skloot, a bit inspirational. I would love to get coffee with her.

It’s kinda like: Stiff, Spook, or Bonk by Mary Roach (Yes, I love my nerdy research girls.)

Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

Yes, I know reviews of this book have been done to death. I had seen the Julia Roberts movie replayed on cable, of course, but hadn’t actually read the book yet. I found it for $1 at a book sale, and figured it was worth reading just to have an opinion about it. Honestly, Eat Pray Love is a good book. Overplayed in the media, yes, but good. It was interesting to see what was different in the book, and it is well-written. Elizabeth seems authentic, likeable, and while a little daring, also a little but of a regular person. It does make you feel like you could also change your life if you only were willing to take the leap. I dare you not to be Googling Bali vacations as soon as you put the book down.

It’s kinda like:  The Happiness Project (and apparently two books I haven’t read but people say are similar: Under the Tuscan Sun: At Home In Italy and Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail. I’m taking people’s word on that.)

Dune Road: A Novel by Jane Green

I am a long-time reader of Ms. Green, and imagine I will continue reading her books until either she stops making them, or I lose my eye-sight. There are a lot of authors like that, for me. Not only do I enjoy their work, but after reading so many of their books they have a comfortable, distant, but familiar presence in my life… kind of like that cousin of yours, who you love, but lives really far away so you never see? You know what I mean. In any case, Dune Road was alright. I enjoyed sitting down with a cup of coffee and observing as Kit’s life evolved. The most enjoyable storyline centered on Kit’s relationships and their ever-changing nature, particularly with her ex-husband and her sister. If you have never read Jane Green before, I would point you to a few of her previous novels to get started. Personally, I found The Beach House, Second Chance, and Babyville: A Novel more engaging. Jane Green is an author who is easy to feeling connected with, and I believe will remain a staple of the Chick Lit bookshelves. Seriously, read The Beach House on your next day off – you won’t regret it.

It’s kinda like: The other books by Jane Green listed above, Good in Bed by Jennifer Weiner, or Flirting With Forty by Jane Porter (Why do all their names start with Js? Conspiracy theory, anyone?)

Where We Belong by Emily Giffin

Emily Giffin is also a classic-factory within the Chick Lit genre, and a current back-hone of it I’m sure. With bestsellers being made into major feature films (such is the case with Something Borrowed), her books are certainly popular and worth reading. Where We Belong is a good book, particularly suitable for a beach read on vacation, as that easy but enjoyable read while you’re on a long flight, or a relaxed weekend. However, I think that (similar to the Jane Green review above) I would recommend other books by the author ahead of this one. It just didn’t resonate the same way with me. Ms. Giffin’s step in a different direction, exploring different topics and relationships, was what was most enjoyable.

It’s kinda like: Her other books as mentioned above, The Undomestic Goddess by Sophia Kinsella, and Fly Away Home by Jennifer Weiner.

As usual, these are just my own humble opinions based on my reading experiences. Anyone else read the above, and have a differing opinion? Crushing on Rebecca Skloot? Want to add a few recommendations to my reading list?

Happy weekend, everyone!

PS: This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own, and I have not received compensation for anything written. Keepin’ it real.

Author: Dani @ Painting Sunny

Hi there! I'm Dani, and it's lovely to meet you. My little family just moved to the quaint little college-town of Ithaca, NY and are loving it. Come hang out with me and talk about food, books, art, and other odd little things.

One thought on “Fun Size Reviews of Recent Reads

  1. Pingback: Random Recent Reads, More Tasty Little Fun-Sized Reviews | painting sunny

Leave a Reply

