painting sunny

Art For The Kids: Make It Up

4 Comments

We all want the best for our children, right? Well, in some cases we do but just aren’t willing to shill out the money for the very best and just DIY it to be close enough. I do about half the time, at least. The oldest is 6; they don’t know any better.

I would love to have fantastic artwork in both the kids rooms, and am especially interested in somewhat gender-neutral pieces as well as things that are a little more unique and mature enough to fit in with the rest of the house, while still being bright and kid-friendly. I perused my Pinterest Boards and Googled around a bit to find a few ideas for artwork I could make for the kids myself… or at least print out for free or cheap. One of the projects I actually already made my own version of over a year ago, as you may recall from this post.

Check these out! I’m pretty impressed with what people out there in the world are doing, as well as the availability of really cool prints for really cheap. What’s not to love about these?Moodboard, Art For The Kids: Make It Up | Painting Sunny

  1. Love Hue Design, Chevron Art!: This is so hip. And affordable. That makes it hipordable. That’s a real thing now. I love the different ways she cut costs, and how unique and asymmetrical this turned out. Who doesn’t have a bunch of paint chips lying around? This is perfect for a kids room, as you can adjust the colors to be as bright as you want and to fit any nursery or kid’s room color decorating theme.
  2. freevintageposters.com,World’s Fair Chicago 1934 Vintage Printable Poster: I love the variety of posters here, and how sentimental you can be in choosing a poster that highlights a topic or location that is special to your family. This poster in particular has bold, beautiful colors and is free to print!
  3. Open Art Project, Goodbye!: This is so cute, I cannot believe it is free. I absolutely want to get this printed for our son’s room. It has a funny, cheeky vibe and subtle but still cheerful pops of color.
  4. Plain Vanilla Mom, Butterfly Footprints: I love how my own version of this turned out, and bet you will too if you try it. Can you get any more sentimental than this?
  5. Mr.Printables.com, Rain, Rain, Go Away: They have both color and black & white versions of this to print out. I love the color one, but recall when Young House Love colored their own free printable in with colored pencil and how cute it looks. What do you think? I could go either way.
  6. MinitureRhino, Orion Constellation Embroidery Kit: You do have to buy the kit for this one, but get to give it that personal home-made touch when you embroider it yourself! I wouldn’t try to makeshift the supplies myself; the kit is so affordable, it would probably save time and money to just buy it. This would be perfect for an outer-space-themed kids room, or really anywhere – I love the nerd-chic quality.

BONUS…

Photo Source: Harper's Happenings

Photo Source: Harper’s Happenings

7. Harper’s Happenings, Miniature Mounted Menagerie: Okay, I didn’t get this one added to the mood-board but it is not only adorable and affordable (adordable?) it is also trendy and so gender-neutral. While the original inspiration here wasn’t doing it for a kids room, I think it would be perfect for a little kiddo too. Adorbs.

What do you think? Anyone else looking everywhere for inspiration to DIY your own kid’s room art? Or do you splurge and buy it from local art fairs? Favorite Etsy shops?

I’m brainstorming some other ideas, so stay tuned for some mood boards focusing on art you can buy and creative ways to display it. Who doesn’t need more beauty in their lives?

PS: This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own, and I have not received compensation for anything written. Keepin’ it real.

Author: Dani @ Painting Sunny

Hi there! I'm Dani, and it's lovely to meet you. My little family just moved to the quaint little college-town of Ithaca, NY and are loving it. Come hang out with me and talk about food, books, art, and other odd little things.

4 thoughts on “Art For The Kids: Make It Up

  1. Love it, thanks for the mention!

  2. Pingback: Art For The Kids: Buy It Up | painting sunny

  3. Pingback: Art For The Kids: Hang It Up | painting sunny

Leave a Reply

