painting sunny

Southerwestern Salmon Salad

Leave a comment

I don’t really know if salmon is a common component of Southwestern Cuisine. Oh well. This tastes good.

This is another “practically not a recipe” recipe, since it is basically taking things you really like and mixing them together in a nice way. I have to share, though – it was delicious.

Southwestern Salmon Salad | Painting Sunny

It is both warm and cold, and quite filling. FYI: that bowl above is not a normal sized bowl. It is, in fact, mixing bowl sized. Please don’t judge me.

Southwestern Salmon Salad | Painting Sunny

Gather your ingredients:

  • Romaine lettuce hearts
  • Ripe tomatos
  • Pinto beans  (as seen in the plastic leftovers container above… it was from tacos)
  • No-salt-added whole kernel corn (again, in a plastic container)
  • Salsa
  • Ranch dressing (I like the Greek yogurt version from Bolthouse Farms, in the produce section)
  • Pink salmon, from package or can
  • Hot sauce, optional

… and whatever else you like on salads of this sort. Obviously.

Southwestern Salmon Salad | Painting Sunny

Chop up your veggies.

Warm up your pinto beans and corn. I use the microwave.

Southwestern Salmon Salad | Painting Sunny

… and toss all your ingredients together in a way that looks aesthetically appealing.

Eat. There you go.. wasn’t that delicious, and healthy too?

I am amazed I did not add feta cheese or artichokes to this. Those are like sacred foods in my life, to be eaten at every meal. Maybe next time…

Anyone else found any good uses for those packets of ready-t0-eat salmon? Recipes where the titles are alliterations?

PS: This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own, and I have not received compensation for anything written. Keepin’ it real.

Author: Dani @ Painting Sunny

Hi there! I'm Dani, and it's lovely to meet you. My little family just moved to the quaint little college-town of Ithaca, NY and are loving it. Come hang out with me and talk about food, books, art, and other odd little things.

Leave a Reply

