painting sunny

Bestest Ever Perfect Pancakes

5 Comments

I dedicated the entire 27th year of my life to finding the perfect pancake recipe. I kind of wish I was joking here, now that I see how that looks in writing. Anyway, I ended up with this recipe that is, in my humble opinion, the best pancake recipe ever. Which means I make the best pancakes ever. Well, there went the humble.

Bestest Ever Perfect Pancakes | Painting Sunny

They have a buttermilk flavor, are super extra fluffy, and bake up to a perfect golden brown. See, as evidenced above. Those were silver-dollar sized, so they might look a little miniature  Especially if you’re from Bloomington, Indiana and are familiar with the famed Village Deli. (Which people sometimes call “V.D.” which sounds really gross, but you learn to get used to it and start calling it that yourself.)

Bestest Ever Perfect Pancakes | Painting Sunny

Gather your ingredients, which are pretty much all pantry staples. I do not understand why people buy pre-made pancake mix.

Note: Below is enough to feed my family of four, which includes two adults and two children. Alter servings as you need.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 4 tbls vinegar
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 4 tbls sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 tbls melted butter
  • cooking spray
  • toppings as desired (we like 100% maple syrup, but I also love to add a couple blueberries or a few chocolate chips!)

What I love about this recipe is that it is super fluffy, without having a baking powder or baking soda weird taste, which others have. I know – I literally made 20+ pancake recipes before this one.

Bestest Ever Perfect Pancakes | Painting Sunny

Combine the milk with the vinegar in a large bowl and set aside for five minutes. This will “sour” the milk, which gives it the amazing flavor.

Mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl.

Whisk the eggs and melted butter into the milk mixture after it’s five minutes are up.

Yes, the little pink bowl above is one of my kids plastic dishes.

Bestest Ever Perfect Pancakes | Painting Sunny

Gently stir the dry ingredient mixture into the wet ingredient mixture.

Spray some cooking oil onto your griddle or pan and let it get nice and hot. That sounded a little sexy for a breakfast recipe.

Bestest Ever Perfect Pancakes | Painting Sunny

Scoop out some pancake mixture onto the griddle or pan. You may need to use your scoop or a utensil to gently spread out the edges. This batter is thick, which is why I used the word scoop instead of pour. Seriously, I think that is why it turns out so fluffy.

I use a 1/4 cup measurer  that is not quite full to make silver-dollar size. I use a heaping 1/2 cup measurer or bigger for more restaurant-sized pancakes.

Wait until one side turns golden brown and some bubbles appear on the top of the batter, then flip them.

Bestest Ever Perfect Pancakes | Painting Sunny

Let the pancakes finish cooking until both sides are golden brown. Serve with your favorite toppings! I am a serious syrup snob, I’m a little embarrassed to admit. I hate the taste of the fake “table syrup” or “pancake syrup” stuff, so splurge on 100% maple syrup. Did you know they can’t call it maple syrup exactly on the bottle, unless it is 100% pure? There are also different grades of syrup such as “A” or “B”. Okay, I’ll stop now.

Bestest Ever Perfect Pancakes | Painting Sunny

Delicious. I highly recommend.

Anyone else willing to try a million (or just 20) recipes to find the perfect one? Or super pretentious about their maple syrup? I’m like that with a few things, but I swear I will eat mac and cheese from a box just like the rest of the world.

PS: This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own, and I have not received compensation for anything written. Keepin’ it real.

Author: Dani @ Painting Sunny

Hi there! I'm Dani, and it's lovely to meet you. My little family just moved to the quaint little college-town of Ithaca, NY and are loving it. Come hang out with me and talk about food, books, art, and other odd little things.

5 thoughts on “Bestest Ever Perfect Pancakes

  1. I once dedicated a lot of time to find the perfect pumpernickel bread recipe. I finally found one but it has so many ingredients in it that I seldom make it.

  2. Pingback: Mama’s Best Buttery Biscuits | painting sunny

  3. I’m still on the hunt for the perfect bread machine rolls. . .

    • Oh, that sounds like something that would be fun to get to eat the while you try out recipes! :) a really great pie crust and pasta salad are still on my list, too!

Leave a Reply

