painting sunny

A brighter, lighter, whiter vintage children’s desk

3 Comments

I’ve been meaning to share this for a little while, so I’m excited to finally have everything together and pictures taken! This is the story of a little beat-up desk which was rescued and refinished and now belongs to a little girl who loves anything pink, princessy, and made just for her.

Here is the finished desk…

Vintage Children's Desk Refinished | by Painting Sunny

… and here is the requisite before-picture:

Vintage Children's Desk Refinished | by Painting Sunny

She wasn’t all that pretty, when I found her. She was a little beat up, and had an odd huge round knob on the drawer. It was really strangely oversized. I found her at our local Habitat ReStore, here in Bloomington, for $25. Not too bad! They had a few of them on sale, but this one was in the best shape and the drawer glided pretty smoothly.

Vintage Children's Desk Refinished | by Painting Sunny

You  may remember my adventures in milk paint from this table and this bed. Well, this desk was finished to match the bed. Once again, this was Miss Mustard Seed Milk Paint (MMSMP) and on this desk I used Ironestone mixed with the bonding agent, and then finished with the furniture wax. My process this time was a little bit more haphazard…

Now for a close-up of the distressing:

Vintage Children's Desk Refinished | by Painting Sunny
In the beginning, I wanted to be all daring so did not add the bonding agent. The paint peeled at least 60% off, I swear. It just did. So, I took a deep breath and just repainted the whole thing with the bonding agent added, two coats. I didn’t bother to sand off what was left from the first painting attempt.

Then, I used a piece of sandpaper to very gently distress some select spots, so the dark brown wood showed through. The original wood was not very nice, so I was glad to cover it up – and in the glimpses left, it actually appeared a prettier color.

Some of the sorts where it had peeled off now look almost gray under the new paint, but it creates a sort of interesting and naturally aged affect. Like it has had several chapters to it’s life.

The pink knob from Hobby Lobby, and was 50% off… I forget how much it cost but I doubt it was more than 70 cents.

Vintage Children's Desk Refinished | by Painting Sunny

And above is what it looks like with a cat on it. Just to help you visualize, you know. Seriously, Paloma will not miss out on a photo op.

It’s not my husband’s cup of tea (he likes shiny, new, modern) but I think it fits great in the girls room, has a vintage charm, and will all add up to a cozy, pretty, feminine little girl’s room when paired with the other projects we have planned for the future.

Anyone else totally repainting the same furniture twice in a week? Have a cat that is always ready for her close-up? I’m excited to be one step closer to having the furniture in Haven’s room all finished! Next up, though, is a bed refinishing for our boy’s room.

PS: This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own, and I have not received compensation for anything written. Keepin’ it real.

PSS: This post was linked to Miss Mustard Seed.

Author: Dani @ Painting Sunny

Hi there! I'm Dani, and it's lovely to meet you. My little family just moved to the quaint little college-town of Ithaca, NY and are loving it. Come hang out with me and talk about food, books, art, and other odd little things.

3 thoughts on “A brighter, lighter, whiter vintage children’s desk

  1. Awww, this is adorable! Look at you go with the chalkpaint! I haven’t tried it yet, the whole bonding agent stuff freaks me out a little! Glad you got it all fixed here, it really does make for a cool effect with the old paint underneath.

  2. Dang, I thought I left a great big comment here, and now I don’t see it … hmmm. In any case, the desk is adorable!!

Leave a Reply

