painting sunny

Smoooth Peanut Butter

Leave a comment

Please make sure to sing that title along to the tune of “Smooth Operator”. I promise, it sounds much better than.

As promised, this is the follow-up to my less-than-lovely Green Smoothie attempts I over-shared on Monday. I think things are looking up! :)

Chobani yogurt has it’s own smoothie recipes, and just a moment of Googling later I was ready to whip up a Peanut Butter Smoothie. (This is not a sponsored post. For real). Really, a Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate SMoothie. I guess Chobani wanted to keep the title short and sweet.

Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie | by Painting Sunny

I gathered my ingredients.

Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie

  • 1 cup Chobani plain yogurt (this is different than the original Chobani recipe – they use vanilla)
  • 1 cup chocolate soy milk (I used light Silk)
  • 1 ripe banana, frozen
  • 2 tbl smooth peanut butter

Frozen bananas just do not look pretty. They do seem to be better flavored and easier to mix in with things, though… and, a great way to not waste bananas that are getting a little too ripe! Just pop them right in the freezer.

Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie | by Painting Sunny

I added the ingredients, as director, with liquid ingredients first going into the blender.

Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie | by Painting Sunny

Whipped it up!

Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie | by Painting Sunny

Voila! Well, sort of. To be honest, it was originally a little too thick and tangy. Both my husband and I thought the greek yogurt overpowered the taste, and it was a little too dense.

So, I left what was still in the blender there, and put it in the fridge while I moved on with  my day. Later that afternoon I just grabbed the blender, and added a more chocolate soy-milk, another half a banana, and whipped it again. Muuuuch better. I ate some then, but saved the rest for breakfast the next morning.

Personally, I am always hungry. I have been ever since I stopped eating meat. Essentially, I’ve been somewhere between “a little bit peckish” and “so hangry I want to push people down stairs” for 6 years now. So, I was truly impressed with after this smoothie I wasn’t all that hungry again until near lunch.

Normally, I start jonesing for lunch around 9:45am. Yay for smoothies!

Meanwhile…

Strawberry Spinach Banana Smoothie | by Painting Sunny

I’ve tried out a couple new ones, as well! The above picture may be familiar from a Tweet sent this past Sunday.Sorry for the not-so-hot iPhone pic!

Strawberry, Spinach, Banana Smoothie

  •   6 strawberries
  • 1/2 a ripe banana
  • 5-6 fresh spinach leaves
  • 1 cup light vanilla soymilk
  • 1/3 cup Chobani plain yogurt

This one was the best by far! Seriously, I could eat this all the time. Kind of wish those strawberry seeds weren’t so grainy… but it was good! This morning, I also whipped up the same thing but minus the spinach and with a little bit of smooth peanut butter added. Now I’m just like Dr. Frankenstein with these things.

Suggestions for other smoothie add-ins? Anyone else in a constant state of hunger/hanger/vanger? Yes, vanger is when hungry+angry=violent. This is a real affliction, people.

PS: This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own, and I have not received compensation for anything written. Keepin’ it real.

Author: Dani @ Painting Sunny

Hi there! I'm Dani, and it's lovely to meet you. My little family just moved to the quaint little college-town of Ithaca, NY and are loving it. Come hang out with me and talk about food, books, art, and other odd little things.

Leave a Reply

