painting sunny

Trials and Tribulations of Smoothie Experimenting

1 Comment

I could have gone for an “It’s Not Easy Being Green” type schtick, but it was just a little too obvious, right?

As I exclaimed last week when brainstorming fresh-spinach uses, I wanted to try out some smoothie recipes. First problem encountered was of course not having any appliance that blends solid food items into a smooth consistency. Problem solved: I ran into Target and grabbed a blender that seemed decent. I chose a Hamilton Beach model (this is not a sponsored post) because it wasn’t the cheapest, didn’t take up too much space, and wasn’t the most expensive. I paid around $34 for it.

I know there are some amazing blender and smoothie systems out there, but until I have committed to a serious smoothie lifestyle I cannot drop $150 on something with such a specific use. Check back with me in a year!

Leaving Target, I Googled the Green Smoothie recipe from Two Peas and Their Pod on my phone, and swung into the grocery store to grab the ingredients I didn’t already have at home. Our local Target sells groceries but they are both oddly packaged and oddly expensive. Is this just me? 

And then, I did something wrong.

An Attempt At Green Smoothie Making | by Painting Sunny

I should not have watermarked this image.

If you’re thinking “Honey, that smoothie does not look good” then you’re right. It really wasn’t.

I’m still not really sure what I did the most wrong. I have a few guesses, though. I want to be clear that this was completely my fault. The original recipe from Two Peas and Their Pod is obviously much prettier, and from the comments obviously much tastier than mine.

As you can tell if you read the original Two Peas and Their Pod recipe, and check out my list of ingredients below, I didn’t have an orange so used more strawberries instead. Otherwise, I swear I followed it exactly as it was written… but I think that orange may have made a much bigger difference than I predicted.

I used:

  • 1/2 of a large banana (not frozen beforehand)
  • 9 strawberries
  • 2 cups fresh spinach
  • 1/3 cup Chobani plain yogurt
  • 1 cup ice

The other issue is that my new blender seems to blend things fine… but not particularly large ice. We have a built-in ice-maker in our freezer, which produces very large and dense ice, so it took way more runs of the “smoothie setting” and pulse to get the ice chopped up. I’m brainstorming ways around this; I may just try a couple recipes that don’t use ice.

An Attempt At Green Smoothie Making | by Painting Sunny

So, I gathered up the above ingredients (except half the banana was given as a snack to a nearby child) and got started. I’m making my favorite soup this weekend, so was happy to have a big bag of spinach on hand.

An Attempt At Green Smoothie Making | by Painting Sunny

I got everything all chopped up nicely and put in the blender pitcher… except the directions indicated all liquids should be on the bottom, and I forgot to add the yogurt until the end. Greek yogurt is pretty thick, though… but I’m guessing it is still considered a liquid.

An Attempt At Green Smoothie Making | by Painting Sunny

I took a deep breath and prepared myself for some smoothie magic. Doesn’t it all look so pretty in there? Bright, vibrant, healthy colors?

An Attempt At Green Smoothie Making | by Painting Sunny

Eww. Well, I didn’t expect that. Yes, that looks like grey-green-brownish sludge. And a spinach leaf still floating in it. I did promise y’all that I would share my failures as well as the successes. There you go.

An Attempt At Green Smoothie Making | by Painting Sunny

It didn’t taste all that bad, but could use… well, a lot of improvement. I’ll be back on Wednesday, I hope, with at least one successful smoothie conquest to brag about.

Anyone else living in struggle city, with their blender? First-time smoothie making? Please reassure me I’m not alone. I’m also guessing this post won’t be pinned a lot.

PS: This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own, and I have not received compensation for anything written. Keepin’ it real.

Author: Dani @ Painting Sunny

Hi there! I'm Dani, and it's lovely to meet you. My little family just moved to the quaint little college-town of Ithaca, NY and are loving it. Come hang out with me and talk about food, books, art, and other odd little things.

One thought on “Trials and Tribulations of Smoothie Experimenting

  1. Pingback: Smoooth Peanut Butter | painting sunny

Leave a Reply

