painting sunny

Spice Things Up… With Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Leave a comment

Are you ready? It’s getting hot in herre! Okay, I can’t believe I wrote that. Please forget all about my writing that, and that Nelly song too. Some things should stay in 2002. The cookies we are about to bake just have an extra kick, I promise!

It is convenient for me, that everyone else in the family shares a same favorite cookie; a spicy oatmeal raisin cookie. It is my husband and my daughter’s favorite cookie, anyway. To be honest, I have no idea what Lo’s favorite cookie is. He is just a little too young to have developed a preference, and if I had to guess I would say chocolate chip. Could be wrong, though. What is my favorite, you ask? Obvi, it is anything with sugar in it.

Haven requested for a tea party (see pictures near end of post) and it was a great excuse to bake our most popular household baked good.

20130126-194016.jpg

These cookies are pretty traditional in nature, but with a hint more spice than usual. They are also surprisingly less greasy than most oatmeal raisin cookies, but still moist and delicious. Let’ s get baking so you can see for yourselves!

20130126-193913.jpg

This recipe is based off of one I found on allrecipes.com (how awesome is that place?) called Beth’s Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies. (Full recipe in shorter-form is at the bottom of the post)

Gather your ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened (I prefer unsalted)
  • 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups  all-purpose flour (I prefer unbleached)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup raisins

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F, and line two baking sheets with parchment paper. If you like to use parchment paper. I certainly do.

20130126-193920.jpg

In an standing mixer or large bowl, cream together the butter, shortening, brown sugar, white sugar, eggs, and vanilla until smooth. In a separate medium bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves, and salt. Stir the mixture of dry ingredients into the creamed mixture until well-blended (but don’t overdo it past that point).

I pledge allegiance forever to my kitchen aid. She is amazing, and I am grateful for her everyday. She doesn’t have a name actually… I think it should be something regal. Thoughts?

20130126-193929.jpg

Stir in the oats and raisins until well-blended. Yum. Wait, don’t eat it yet!

20130126-193935.jpg

Drop “by rounded teaspoonfuls” onto the baking sheets. I put that in quotes because, personally, I ended up just scooping up big unmeasured pieces of cookie dough into what looks like it would fit into my mouth in two-ish bites. Scientific precision, I know.

20130126-194021.jpg

Bake 10 to 12 minutes until light golden brown. Do not over-bake them! It’s hard to show with a camera, but the above and below pictures should demonstrate that they still look nice and light. They darken just a bit as they cool.

20130126-193940.jpg

Let cookies cool for 2 minutes on the baking sheets, then move them onto a cooling sheet until fully cooled. Store in an airtight container or freeze (whatever you don’t eat while standing there waiting for the next batch to finish). These freeze very well – I typically leave half out for the family to eat, and freeze half for later. The freezer cookies are like bonus cookies – two weeks later it is like BAM; delicious without all the work.

20130126-194002.jpg

Haven requested a tea party with her little tea set we haven’t gotten much chance to use until now. She also insisted we have fresh baked cookies for the event, so here we are. They even inspired her little brother to decide he would accept his invitation, and hoard as many cookies as his little hands could hold.

tea party cookies

Anyone else have a family that conveniently agrees on favorite foods? We need it, since half of us don’t eat meat, like different vegetables, and different ice cream flavors. Some common-ground is always a welcome thing.

Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened (I prefer unsalted)
  • 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups  all-purpose flour (I prefer unbleached)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup raisins

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F, and line two baking sheets with parchment paper. In an standing mixer or large bowl, cream together the butter, shortening, brown sugar, white sugar, eggs, and vanilla until smooth. In a separate medium bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves, and salt. Stir the mixture of dry ingredients into the creamed mixture until well-blended (but don’t overdo it past that point). Stir in the oats and raisins until well-blended. Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto the baking sheets. Bake 10 to 12 minutes until light golden brown. Do not over-bake them! Let cookies cool for 2 minutes on the baking sheets, then move them onto a cooling sheet until fully cooled. Store in an airtight container or freeze. These freeze very well!

PS: This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own, and I have not received compensation for anything written. Keepin’ it real.

Author: Dani @ Painting Sunny

Hi there! I'm Dani, and it's lovely to meet you. My little family just moved to the quaint little college-town of Ithaca, NY and are loving it. Come hang out with me and talk about food, books, art, and other odd little things.

Leave a Reply

