painting sunny

Fluffy Waffles: Just Beat It

Leave a comment

Who would have thought my favorite waffle recipe would come from the user’s manual of our new waffle iron? You know those 5 little recipes on the very back page of every kitchen appliance, printed in 6.5 point font? And that it wouldn’t have added sugar in it? Well, this one is called “fluffy waffles” and on the day we cracked open the box on my husband’s anniversary gift, I was too hungry to stop and Google for a new recipe. I decided to pick one that was in front of me, and one called for beating the egg whites separately. Which, sounded like extra work but also a little intriguing. Since first trying this recipe out, it has stayed on the weekend brunch rotation as a regular head-liner.

This also doesn’t make a huge mess of the kitchen, so that’s a plus; one appliance, one big bowl, and my trusty kitchen-aid mixer. Thanks for the recipe, Presto FlipSide Belgian Waffle Maker! (this is in no one sponsored by Presto, I just wanted to be fair since it is their recipe).

And a shout-out to Michael Jackson, for the title of this post.

PS Waffle 3

I had made waffles hundreds of times before, but since our last waffle iron had bit the dust it had been about a year. And my husband really, really loves waffles so giving him an appliance for our anniversary was totally on the up-and-up.

This recipe makes three full-sized waffles, which easily feeds myself, my husband, and our two little kids. In a few years, I may have to start doubling it up as the kids get bigger – but that should give you a rough idea of the portions you’ll end up with.

(Full recipe at the bottom of this post):

Gather your ingredients:

  • Something to cook a waffle in or on and something that can electrically mix things at a high speed
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour (I prefer unbleached)
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 3/4 cups milk (I use 2%)
  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 2 tbs vegetable oil

For the below items, I clearly have no reservations using the Kroger generic brand. Somehow, Crisco is always the cheapest though, and I do think it has a good, clean taste to it.

20130112-203753.jpg

This is the easiest recipe ever. I mix the dry ingredients into one big bowl (flour, baking powder, salt) and the wet ingredients into the mixer (milk, egg yolks, and oil) minus the egg whites – put those aside.

Next, pour the milk/yolk/oil mixture into the dry ingredients, and stir gently until they are juuuuust mixed together.

Without washing the mixer (why bother) I put the egg whites into the mixer, and whip them until nice and stiff. That sounded weird.

Pour the egg white mixer into your big bowl the rest of the ingredients, and again being very gentle, fold the whites into it until just mixed.

20130112-203733.jpg

Pour 1 cup of batter into your mixer, and set it for 3 minutes. Or until whenever your mixer cooks it through – that probably varies.

PS Waffle 2

As I earlier stated, this post is not sponsored by anyone other than me – however, I will say that we do like our Presto FlipSide waffle iron. We have owned several waffle irons (and our family members several others) and this is the one that takes up the least amount of cabinet space, stays clean (without a bunch of little pieces batter gets stuck in) and makes pretty consistently golden-brown waffles. We bought it after reading great reviews on it – just an FYI in case anyone is bored at work and updating their Amazon wish-list.

20130112-203747.jpg

WEIRD TIP: I use a bamboo skewer (like the type you use to make shish kabobs) to remove the waffles from the waffle iron when they are done, without them tearing apart or burning myself. I just slide it in through the side of the waffle all the way across, and pick it up with it, then slide it onto a plate.

For a recipe with no added sugar, they are surprisingly sweet – I’m assuming the whipped egg whites have a magical and mysterious effect.

PS Waffle 4

We serve them with 100% maple syrup, and butter. Yum.

PS Waffle 1

If only all other breakfast recipes didn’t call for a full cup of sugar…. and that the recipes in the backs of manuals always produced delicious foods…

Fluffy Waffles (My Interpretation)

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 3/4 cups milk
  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 2 tbs vegetable oil

Combine flour, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl. Whisk milk, egg yolks, and oil in a standing mixer, or bowl with an electric mixer. Whisk milk, egg yolks, and oil into the dry ingredients just until mixed. Use standing mixer or electric mixer to beat egg whites until very stiff. Fold whites into the batter. Preheat the waffle iron, and follow your waffle iron’s directions for portions and cook times, to cook waffle until light brown and crips. I use 1 cup of batter and cook for 3 minutes.

 

PS: This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own, and I have not received compensation for anything written. Keepin’ it real.

Author: Dani @ Painting Sunny

Hi there! I'm Dani, and it's lovely to meet you. My little family just moved to the quaint little college-town of Ithaca, NY and are loving it. Come hang out with me and talk about food, books, art, and other odd little things.

Leave a Reply

