painting sunny

Little Pizzas or “All My Favorite Things on a Flatbread”

2 Comments

I go through feta cheese like nobody’s business. We are talking a container a week… they say admitting a problem is the first step, but I have a feeling this one is here to stay since it has been going on for years at this point. I’m one of those people who is open to enjoy almost all types of food, but somehow still ends up eating the same meal 5 times in one week; this recipe is one of those.PS aga1

Well, the term “recipe” might be a bit deceiving. This is a fully-customizable way to stick things you like together. That sounded weird.

My ingredients of preference are:

  • Flatbreads (by the company Kangaroo, usually sold at Kroger in the deli/bakery section and generally $2.59 a package in my store)
  • Feta cheese (I actually sort of like the Kroger brand)
  • Pesto (I use the little Buitoni tub)
  • Tomato
  • Spinach
  • Baby Portobello mushrooms
  • Artichoke hearts

This is where it can all be customized; I think pretty much any bread, any sauce, any cheese, and any toppings could just be combined together. Actually, you could ditch the cheese if you’re vegan or just don’t cheese.

Tip: I keep my flatbreads in the freezer so they stay fresh. Then, when I want to make my little pizzas I pull  a couple out of the bag in the freezer, and microwave them for 20 seconds. Good as new.ps0

When people ask someone what their favorite food is, I think the societal expectation is to name a nice dish, such as “Oh, shrimp scampi of course!”. Mine are always weird… something like “artichoke hearts”. I’ve realized that my favorite foods are all actually ingredients, which is convenient since I can just plunk a bunch of artichoke hearts onto whatever I’m eating and voila, it’s a special occasion!

ps9

Go ahead and cut up the toppings. I recommend slicing the tomatoes and mushrooms quite thin, so that they get nice and cooked. ps a9

Put the breads on a baking sheet, and smear some pesto on top. I use a very thin later, so they don’t get soggy. (I also put foil on my baking sheet, because I bought nice-ish ones recently and don’t want to  mess them up too much).

 psa5

I spread my toppings pretty evenly over the flatbreads, then set my oven to broil. My oven has two settings (high and low) and I always choose low.

PS a3

Haven got in on the pizza fun – she prefers hers with red sauce and mozzarella cheese, so hers is a little special; she puts it together herself to make sure it is uniquely hers, of course.

PS again

Then, put those pizzas under the broiler and make sure they don’t burn! I set my timer for 3 minutes and 45 seconds, and then flip them around for 1 more minute. However, your oven may be less wonky than mine, or temperature settings may need to be different. Just keep an eye on it and adjust it as needed.

Anyone else have a random ingredient as a favorite food? Other than sugar. ;)

Little Pizzas

Ingredients:

  • Flatbreads
  • Feta cheese
  • Pesto
  • Tomato
  • Spinach
  • Baby Portobello mushrooms
  • Artichoke hearts

Set the oven to your lowest broiler setting, and line a baking sheet with foil. Set your flatbreads on the baking sheet. Spread a thin layer of pesto over the bread, and evenly spread the toppings over the bread. Add the cheese, spreading it evenly over the top. Place the baking sheet into the oven under the broiler for 3 minutes and 45 seconds. Check to see if it is done to your preference, and add more time if needed. Watch it close so it doesn’t burn!

PS: This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own, and I have not received compensation for anything written. Keepin’ it real.

PSS: This post was linked to Recipe Sharing Mondays on Jam Hands, and Tempt My Tummy on Blessed with Grace. Thank you! Gotta love a link party.

Author: Dani @ Painting Sunny

Hi there! I'm Dani, and it's lovely to meet you. My little family just moved to the quaint little college-town of Ithaca, NY and are loving it. Come hang out with me and talk about food, books, art, and other odd little things.

2 thoughts on “Little Pizzas or “All My Favorite Things on a Flatbread”

  1. I don’t think you can ever go wrong with pizza, I’ve been thinking about having a pizza making party with my grandkids,your pizzas look deliscious!
    Helen

Leave a Reply

