painting sunny

DIY Bigger Cork Stamps

7 Comments

It is impossible not to get sucked into the dark depth of Pinterest, and stamps and stencils are blowing up the internet. Patterns have made appearances in my paintings and projects for just about forever, and I’ve wanted to experiment with stamping them on to still get that each-little-shape-is-uniquely-painted effect (not sure why I needed to add all those hyphens).

I’ve experimented with making stamps out of Styrofoam plates, potatoes, and using lino-cut squares… and thankfully don’t have pictures. I imagine all those people pinning are not wrong, and it is totally me, but I’m always disappointed in the results.

Work cork stamps are overpopulating the earth right now, and I do like wine, but keepin’ it real… I almost always drink the kind with the rubber corks. Yep. And it just seems like the stamps would be so… tiny. So, I was happy to have stumbled onto a tutorial by a mess to be made, for using those cheap cork sheets.

She used a cork sheet she already had laying around the house, and lo and behold… I had a random cork sheet myself! So, I set to work. Her tutorial does a great job at laying at the steps, so I won’t be overly detailed here, but below were my steps and a few things I may have done a little differently.

I started out tracing out the shapes, and really was just experimenting to sketched out a easy heart, quatrefoil (that is what that is, right?) and for some reason, an airplane just seemed to speak to me.

Stamp6

Although I absolutely should have used an X-Acto knife like she did… I was in a lazy mood and my pinking shears were right there, and I forgot how hard cork is too cut. In my defense, the shears are already pretty dull… so it didn’t seem quite as horrible to do.

Stamp5

The cork was super crumbly… perhaps using the original tutorial’s advice and using an X-Acto would have cut down on this. I’ve heard that boiling wine corks for a few minutes before cutting them keeps them from crumbling, but I didn’t feel like experimenting with the cork sheet as it sounded difficult and a bit risky when I only had one sheet.

Stamp4

Sure enough, we had a man down. No worries – I just put him back together when I glued him to the backing. I had a hot glue gun handy, so I used that instead of regular glue.

Stamp3

I measured around the shapes to cut a little backing out of the rest of the cork (although in the future I might use something cheaper and easier to cut, like cardboard).

Stamp2

I glued them together and bam! Stamps. I actually thought they looked pretty cute.

Stamp1

I used acrylic paint, and am certain that all of these projects would turn out better if I used ink. Honestly, with little kids in the house and my own clumsiness I just am not up for having ink in my life. In the end, I still felt like they did some weird things with the paint, but it was significantly better than other efforts. Washing the paint off the stamps was brutal, but I’ll see how they hold up when re-used. I have some plans for what to do with them, so there will be an update soon!

Any other ideas for DIY stamp materials that don’t leave little squiggly paint effects? Is it just me?

PS: This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own, and I have not received compensation for anything written. Keepin’ it real.

PSS: This post was linked to Craft-O-Maniac Monday at Craft-O-Maniac, Made With Love Monday at Sew Chatty, and Sweet Sharing Monday at SayNotSweetAnn.com. Thank you! Gotta love a link party.

Author: Dani @ Painting Sunny

Hi there! I'm Dani, and it's lovely to meet you. My little family just moved to the quaint little college-town of Ithaca, NY and are loving it. Come hang out with me and talk about food, books, art, and other odd little things.

7 thoughts on “DIY Bigger Cork Stamps

  1. Love the airplane idea! So cute.

  2. My kids and I love making our own stamps! Great for making home-made wrapping paper!
    thanks for sharing…

    hugs x
    Crystelle

  3. Love your tute good effort. We found you via Skip to my Lou – made by you Monday.

  4. Hello!
    Show and Tell Saturday at Sassy Little Lady is LIVE! I’d love to have you share your post!

    http://www.sassylittlelady.com/blog/show-and-tell-saturday/show-and-tell-saturday-2

    Kathie

Leave a Reply

